• donation_jms.jpg
  • drama_students.jpg
  • funraising_cheque.jpg

Uganda Martyrs Hospital Lubaga


In October 2012 the Board decided that the name of the hospital should be changed: from previously Rubaga Hospital to Lubaga Hospital. The Board also clarified that the full name of the hospital is now: Uganda Martyrs Hospital Lubaga.

Since the earlier years the hospital has been dedicated to the Uganda Martyrs. In 1942, two White Sisters admitted to Lubaga Hospital were healed from pneumonic plague, which was a deadly disease at that time. There were no antibiotics by then. The healing occurred after the intercession to the Ugandan Martyrs who had been beatified in 1920 by Pope Benedict XV. The miracle in LUBAGA HOSPITAL was instrumental for the canonisation of the Uganda Martyrs as saints for the whole world. This was done by Pope Paul VI in 1964 during the Second Vatican Council. 

The Pope later visited Uganda in 1969 and visited Lubaga Hospital.

uganda martyrs 22

The staff and management of Lubaga Hospital feel that it is a great honour and responsibility to work and serve at a place where the Martyrs showed in front of the whole world that sacrifice, ‘to make sacred’, is the consequence of loving the truth of a reality, the value of a person, not the denial of its goodness. We pray and hope that their example is not just a reminder and a lesson for us but a daily experience that helps us to grow as we follow the noble call of assisting the Lord in the process of healing of the sick.

Vatican flag 

Lubaga Hospital is Catholic founded Hospital belonging to the Archdiocese of Kampala in Uganda. It serves people of all faiths especially the less priviledged based on Catholic values and principles.

Its top management is a board of governors which includes the following members: Dr. Joseph Mary Sseremba-Chairman, Msgr.Charles Kasibante, Msgr. Joseph Kazibwe Ntuwa, Sr. Rose Mary Namaganda, Dr. Cissy Kityo Mutuluza,  Mrs. Regina Bakitte, Mrs. Jackie Nakitto Kiggundu, Mr. John Wilson Ssendikwanawa, Mr. Saturninus Kasozi Mulindwa, Dr. Andrew Ssekitooleko, Dr. Peter Kibuuka and Mr. Fred Lwanga.

archdiocese court of arms